Centrum’s Port Townsend Chamber Music Series exists to showcase the brilliant talent of many of the world’s finest classical artists along with the top echelon of most promising young talents in the field today.

Don’t miss Centrum’s quintet of top Los Angeles-based musicians featuring Michele Zukovsky (clarinet) with, left to right: Jennifer Johnson (oboe), Richard Todd (horn), Lucinda Carver (piano), and Rose Corrigan (bassoon)

city of angles ensemble

Sunday, January 15, 2017
2pm, Joseph F. Wheeler Theater

Strauss – Andante in F for Horn and Piano (Op. Posth.)
Poulenc – Trio for Oboe, Bassoon and Piano, Op. 43
Schumann Fantasiestücke for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 73
Jacques Ibert – Cinq Pieces en Trio for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon
Gernot WolfgangAnother Life (Part 2 of Trilogy) for Clarinet, Bassoon and Piano
Mozart – Quintet in E-flat for Piano and Winds, K. 452

Michele Zukovsky is an American clarinetist and longest serving member of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, serving from 1961 at the age of 18 until her retirement on December 20, 2015. Born in Los Angeles, she played alongside and later succeeded her father, Kalman Bloch, as the principal clarinetist of the Phil. Ms. Zukovsky has been a guest soloist with orchestras throughout the world. She toured with Pinchas Zukerman in Australia and, in June 1991, she gave the world premiere of John Williams’ Clarinet Concerto with the Boston Pops.

Ms. Zukovsky performs regularly at the Los Angeles Philharmonic’s Chamber Music Society concerts and she has participated in a number of premieres with the New Music Group series. She collaborates with a number of chamber ensembles, most notably the Angeles Quartet.  She has appeared at James Levine’s Ravinia Concerts in Alice Tully Hall, Concerts at the Y, at the Mostly Mozart Festival and with the Lincoln Center Chamber Players. Ms. Zukovsky serves as adjunct professor with the University of Southern California Thornton School of Music, within the Division of Classical Music and Composition, Winds and Percussion.

Learn more at Centrum’s Chanber Music page.